Wednesday, 18 December 2019

#BookReview: The Undercover Billionaire by Sandra Becker


What if a Billionaire is forced to clean toilets?

"Kept me on the edge of my seat." - Pat W
"Sweet, sweet story. Loved the characters... Can't get enough of sweet, clean romances." - Jo Ann Thompson
"Original and super fun to read. I highly recommend picking out your favorite bottle of wine and curling up with this one!" - Hanna M


Billionaire Damien Randall and his friend are on vacation aboard a luxury cruise ship. When Damien asserts his arrogant ‘can-do-everything’ attitude in front of his friend, his exasperated friend dares him to a challenge.

The bet: Pinch a crew uniform and become a crew member for a day.

The stakes: One million dollars.

Damien knows better than to succumb to the challenge, but his elephant-sized ego wants to put his friend in his place and so he agrees. The only problem standing in his way: Kelly.

Kelly Messina is the new Chief Steward aboard the ship. On her first day at the job, she wants to stamp her authority and discipline on the housekeeping staff.
And what better way to do it than to give an earful to a sloppy and incompetent Damien?

Will Damien be able to survive an entire day working under the harridan Kelly?
And what will happen when Kelly finds out that the person she was bossing around is rich enough to buy the entire ship?

This is a standalone clean billionaire romance with no cliffhangers and a happily ever after perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Nancy Thayer, Elin Hilderbrand, Susan Wiggs, Brenda Novak, etc.

This book is a perfect way to immerse yourself in a cruise vacation enjoying the sights from Rome to Venice with an adorable love story that will give you a warm and fuzzy feeling.

My Review
Damien is young, rich and fool of himself. Tired of his arrogance, his best friend challenges him to live as a crew member on his (friend’s) ship. With One million dollars at stake, Damien can’t resist.
Life as a servant sees him becoming a subordinate to the most beautiful woman he’s ever met. Unfortunately, he can’t rely on his money, and his usual charms don’t work when he finds himself struggling with his new job and unable to impress his new boss.
I liked the premise of the story, but there were parts of the execution that didn’t work for me. The staging of the bet was one. It made the hero appear immature. Unfortunately, he was unable to recover from it. Wondering how and when the hero’s secret would come out kept my interest, and there were a couple of funny scenes when the hero was almost outed.

This is a sweet romance that takes place over the course of a few days, so the fact that they don’t have sex works well for the story.

Recommended for those who like sweet romance.

No comments:

Post a Comment