Tuesday, 13 July 2021

#Review: The Torn Prince by Zee Monodee | #RHOSaene

The Torn Prince (Royal House of Saene Book 4)Prince Zediah is betrothed to a woman he doesn’t love as part of a peace treaty between their two countries. His heart, however, belongs to another woman, Riona. Zee Monodee presents a refreshing take on a familiar plot with her beautiful narration, a couple of twists, plus a great cast of relatable and realistic characters.

Prepare to fall in love with the prince who doesn’t bulldoze his way into getting what he wants. I adored Zed through his journey to finding himself and winning the heart of the only woman he’s ever loved. I loved Rio’s strong personality and sympathised with the drama that is her family (mainly her mother). The scenes with their son, Nour, were simply adorable!

The Torn Prince is book 4 of the Royal House of Saene series, but can be read as a standalone. It was great seeing some characters from the previous books.

I highly recommend it!


Friday, 9 July 2021

New Release: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed


THE BLACK KIDS BY CHRISTINA HAMMONDS REED

Mocha Girls Read sponsored Book of the Month

 

New York Times bestseller
A William C. Morris Award Finalist

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.


Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

 


* ALA/YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults - Top Ten
* ALA/William C. Morris Award Finalist
* Kansas NEA Reading Circle List Top Pick

 

AVAILABLE ON

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOKSHOP | BAM! | INDIEBOUND

 

ADD ON GOODREADS

 

 

EXCERPT

 On the news, they keep playing the video. The cops are striking the Black man with their boots and batons across the soft of his body and the hard of his skull, until I guess they felt like they’d truly broken him,  

and, sure enough, they had. Four of the cops who beat him are on trial right now, a trial that some say is a battle for the very soul of the city, or even the country itself. It’s something I should give a shit about, but I don’t—not now. 

Right now, birds chirp, palm trees sway, and it’s the kinda Friday where the city seems intent on being a postcard of itself. Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch are on the radio singing “Good Vibrations,” and it’s no Beach Boys, but it’ll do. Heather and I do the running man and hump the air to the beat; this even though she’s told us, in no uncertain terms, that this song is lame, and the rest of us have terrible taste in music. We’re several weeks away from being done with high school, and when I think about it too hard, it terrifies me. So right now I’m trying really hard not to care about anything at all. 

After we exhaust ourselves, Heather and I collapse on the old pool chairs with their broken slats. The plastic creates geometry on my skin. Heather is pudgy and sometimes doesn’t shave her pits.  I can see the dark of her hair in patches in the center of her pasty outstretched arms. How she manages to stay that pale given how long and how often we bake ourselves, I don’t know. It’s a spectacular feat of whiteness. Her lime-green toenail polish is chipped so that each nail vaguely resembles a state in the Midwest. Courtney’s pool vaguely resembles a kidney. 

Across from us, Kimberly and Courtney stretch their bodies out across two fat plastic donuts that are pink and tacky and rainbow sprinkled. They float into each other’s orbits and back out again.  Every so often they splash water at each other and shriek, “Omigod, stop it!” 

Heather yells, “Jesus, get a room already.” 

Courtney laughs and squeezes Kimberly’s boob like it’s a horn. They’ve ditched class two times a week for the last month. I don’t ditch nearly as often as my friends do. But my parents and I are supposed to meet my crazy sister’s new husband tonight, and it’s gonna be a doozy of an evening, so it kinda felt like I owed it to my sanity to not be at school today.  

These are the places we go—the mall, somebody’s pool, or our favorite, the beach. Our parents hate Venice because it’s dirty and there are too many homeless people, tourists, and boom boxes blasting, which means we love it. We flop across our boogie boards and stare into the horizon. Occasionally, a wave comes and we’ll half-heartedly ride it into the sand, our knees scraping against the grain.

 

TAKE A LISTEN!
CLICK HERE FOR AN AUDIO EXCERPT

FIVE REASONS TO BE RIVETED BY THE BLACK KIDS

 

ABOUT CHRISTINA HAMMONDS REED


Christina Hammonds Reed holds an MFA from the University of Southern California’s School of Cinematic Arts. A native of the Los Angeles area, her work has previously appeared in the Santa Monica Review and One Teen Story. Her first novel, The Black Kids, was a New York Times bestseller and William C. Morris Award Finalist.

 

CONNECT WITH CHRISTINA HAMMONDS REED

INSTAGRAM

CONNECT WITH MOCHA GIRLS READ

WEBSITE | FACEBOOKTWITTER | INSTAGRAMNEWSLETTER 

Monday, 5 July 2021

New Release: Love Me Carefully by A.C. Arthur | #LoveMeCarefully #ACArthur #HoneyMagnolia

LOVE ME CAREFULLY BY A.C. ARTHUR

For better or worse, this unlikely hook-up might be the perfect union.


Wedding planner Leah Graham doesn’t believe in “Happily Ever After”. It’s fine for her clients to believe in fairy tales, but when it comes to her own nuptials, her feet aren't just cold - they're frozen. Jaded by her mother’s frequent trips to the altar Leah’s content to plan gorgeous weddings for clients such as her hair stylist, Ms. Rosie; that is until Ms. Rosie's meddling son turns Leah's life upside down.

Computer programmer Terrell Pierce is on the prowl for his perfect bride, but when he catches his girlfriend in bed with another man, his search comes to a screeching halt. Then, as if he needed more drama in his life, his mother announces her intention to remarry, and her groom-to-be is a suspected criminal. Finding a wife suddenly takes a back seat to proving this joker is no good for his mama!

Terrell and Leah are at instant odds - their positions clashing, their attitudes getting in the way. Still, the passion between them simmers as they travel the streets of Baltimore in search of a drug lord, then cruise the seas to Negril with the FBI hot on their trail. Love-at-fist-sight simply isn't enough to get this couple down the aisle. But murder and mayhem might be!

*NOTE: This book was previously published. The title is the same, but the cover has changed and the content has been refreshed. Please do NOT purchase this book under a different cover.

 

AVAILABLE NOW ON

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | KOBO

 

ABOUT A.C. ARTHUR

AC Arthur was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland where she currently resides with her husband, three children, grandson and an English bulldog named Vader. An active imagination and a love for reading encouraged her to begin writing in high school and she hasn’t stopped since. Working in the legal field for over twenty-five years, AC has seen lots of horrific things and longs for the safe haven of a romance novel. To date, she has written in several genres: YA paranormal (w/a Artist Arthur), small town romance as Lacey Baker, and sexy contemporary and paranormal romance. With intriguing plots and sexy love scenes, AC brings a new edge to romance!

 

CONNECT WITH A.C. ARTHUR

AUTHOR SITE | FACEBOOK | A.C.’S BOOK LOUNGETWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BOOKBUB| GOODREADS | AMAZON AUTHOR