Tuesday, 13 July 2021

#Review: The Torn Prince by Zee Monodee | #RHOSaene

The Torn Prince (Royal House of Saene Book 4)Prince Zediah is betrothed to a woman he doesn’t love as part of a peace treaty between their two countries. His heart, however, belongs to another woman, Riona. Zee Monodee presents a refreshing take on a familiar plot with her beautiful narration, a couple of twists, plus a great cast of relatable and realistic characters.

Prepare to fall in love with the prince who doesn’t bulldoze his way into getting what he wants. I adored Zed through his journey to finding himself and winning the heart of the only woman he’s ever loved. I loved Rio’s strong personality and sympathised with the drama that is her family (mainly her mother). The scenes with their son, Nour, were simply adorable!

The Torn Prince is book 4 of the Royal House of Saene series, but can be read as a standalone. It was great seeing some characters from the previous books.

I highly recommend it!


Friday, 9 July 2021

New Release: The Black Kids by Christina Hammonds Reed


THE BLACK KIDS BY CHRISTINA HAMMONDS REED

Mocha Girls Read sponsored Book of the Month

 

New York Times bestseller
A William C. Morris Award Finalist

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black American history.” —Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown and Monday’s Not Coming


Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel explores issues of race, class, and violence through the eyes of a wealthy black teenager whose family gets caught in the vortex of the 1992 Rodney King Riots.


Los Angeles, 1992

Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It’s the end of senior year and they’re spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer.

Everything changes one afternoon in April, when four LAPD officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley’s not just one of the girls. She’s one of the black kids.

As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson.

With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them?

Monday, 5 July 2021

New Release: Love Me Carefully by A.C. Arthur | #LoveMeCarefully #ACArthur #HoneyMagnolia

LOVE ME CAREFULLY BY A.C. ARTHUR

For better or worse, this unlikely hook-up might be the perfect union.


Wedding planner Leah Graham doesn’t believe in “Happily Ever After”. It’s fine for her clients to believe in fairy tales, but when it comes to her own nuptials, her feet aren't just cold - they're frozen. Jaded by her mother’s frequent trips to the altar Leah’s content to plan gorgeous weddings for clients such as her hair stylist, Ms. Rosie; that is until Ms. Rosie's meddling son turns Leah's life upside down.

Computer programmer Terrell Pierce is on the prowl for his perfect bride, but when he catches his girlfriend in bed with another man, his search comes to a screeching halt. Then, as if he needed more drama in his life, his mother announces her intention to remarry, and her groom-to-be is a suspected criminal. Finding a wife suddenly takes a back seat to proving this joker is no good for his mama!

Terrell and Leah are at instant odds - their positions clashing, their attitudes getting in the way. Still, the passion between them simmers as they travel the streets of Baltimore in search of a drug lord, then cruise the seas to Negril with the FBI hot on their trail. Love-at-fist-sight simply isn't enough to get this couple down the aisle. But murder and mayhem might be!

*NOTE: This book was previously published. The title is the same, but the cover has changed and the content has been refreshed. Please do NOT purchase this book under a different cover.

 

AVAILABLE NOW ON

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | KOBO

 

ABOUT A.C. ARTHUR

AC Arthur was born and raised in Baltimore, Maryland where she currently resides with her husband, three children, grandson and an English bulldog named Vader. An active imagination and a love for reading encouraged her to begin writing in high school and she hasn’t stopped since. Working in the legal field for over twenty-five years, AC has seen lots of horrific things and longs for the safe haven of a romance novel. To date, she has written in several genres: YA paranormal (w/a Artist Arthur), small town romance as Lacey Baker, and sexy contemporary and paranormal romance. With intriguing plots and sexy love scenes, AC brings a new edge to romance!

 

CONNECT WITH A.C. ARTHUR

AUTHOR SITE | FACEBOOK | A.C.’S BOOK LOUNGETWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BOOKBUB| GOODREADS | AMAZON AUTHOR