Tuesday, 8 October 2019

#PCBReviews: Meant to Be (Sweetbriar Cove Book 1)

Happy Tuesday! It's time for another Prah, Constantine and Baryeh review. We went sweet romance with Meant to Be (Sweetbriar Cove Book 1) by Melody Grace. (PS. which is free at the time of posting this review)

The Blurb

Perfect for fans of Bella Andre, Susan Mallery, and Mary Kay Andrews, 'Meant to Be' is a gorgeously romantic feel-good beach read about a runaway bride searching for true love on Cape Cod...

Poppy Somerville believes in happily-ever-after. It's the reason her romance novels have won devoted readers all over the world - and why she's broken off her engagement just weeks before the wedding instead of settling for less than true love. Escaping to her aunt's beach cottage in Sweetbriar Cove, Poppy is looking for inspiration to end her writer's block and finish her new book. She just wasn't counting on the handsome, gruff contractor making such a racket next door...

Cooper Nicholson doesn't believe in soul-mates. He thought he'd found his forever once, and the world proved him wrong, so when the cute brunette comes storming over and demands he keep the noise down, romance is the last thing on his mind. But his new neighbor is full of surprises, and soon, their chemistry is too hot to ignore.

As they grow closer, they discover fiction has nothing on the plot twists life has in store. But will Cooper find a way to let go of the past and risk his heart again? And can Poppy find her happy ending - on and off the page?

My Review
Poppy needs a break from her life after breaking off her engagement and hopefully saving herself from an unfulfilling marriage. She feels terrible about hurting the fiance, but is firm in her belief that breaking her engagement is the right decision.



She escapes to Sweetbriar where she's reacquainted with Cooper, someone she knew as a child. Though they start off on the wrong foot, their relationship quickly changes to a romantic one. This story has the makings of a Hallmark movie (if you love those). The problem with them is that it's difficult to wow the reader/audience. 

The main thing that raised brows for me was the hero's reason for holding on to the past. I'm the first to agree that everyone reacts differently a given issue, but I felt there should have been a little more to the story to cause him to hold so firmly on to his past fears. Especially, given some of the things he did to hurt the heroine as a result. Then again, it's fear, and we aren't always rational when it comes to those, right? 

Overall, I liked the sweet moments, and the writing flowed well. 
This is book one of the series, and I enjoyed it enough to try the next book. 


Don't forget to check out the reviews from Prah and Constantine.

2 comments:

  1. Great review. Not just because I agreed with your assessment, especially of Cooper and his motivation for staying away from Poppy. I hope the next book in the series is better.

    ReplyDelete